12 Books In January

I read 12 books this January.  Here’s a list and quick review on those books.

1.  Surely You’re Joking Mr. Feynman

5 stars.  One of my favorite books ever written.  I’m a big fan of biographies.  This one is written as a series of short stories about the life of Richard Feynman.   Funny, smart, and makes me wish I had the pleasure of meeting this guy.

2.   How To Get Filthy Rich In Rising Asia

3 stars.   Well written book which is a mix of a story and a “how to”.  I could see the appeal for some people, but wasn’t my style of narration.

3.  The Power of Habit

2 stars.  As I’ve written earlier, I may be all but done with non-fiction books that are about productivity, business, etc.  Given that I am a business man and I write about business frequently, I do try to keep up with books that are read and written in my industry, but I abhor them.

4.  Ready Player One

5 stars.  Might be my favorite book ever read.   Fun as hell realistic sci fi.   A movie is being made by Steven Spielberg on the movie now.  Get ahead of this and buy this book now.

5.  Boys In The Boat

4 stars.  This is good non-fiction.   A story of the 1936 Olympic Rowing team which rowed in Berlin.  It’s the story of how the team was put together and follows one of the boys in the boat, Joe Rantz.   A fan.

6.  Rework

4 stars.  This is an oldie but one of the better business books out there.  Short, useful points throughout the entire book.  Immediate takeaways that you can use immediately.  I don’t agree 100% with everything in the book, but definitely nuggets that you will take away.  ROI guaranteed.

7.  Hard Boiled Wonderland and The End of the World

4 stars.  My first Murakami book I’ve ever written.  I felt like I was hallucinating the entire time I was reading this book.  Not sure I’ll commit to another Murakami book soon, but if I’m feeling like an introspective emotional journey, he will be my go to.

8.   Extreme Ownership

4 stars.   Good lessons.  Decent stories.   Probably could have been an article.  If you’re a fan of business books, you’ll probably like this one.   Not my thing, but for business books, a good rating.

9.  War of Art

5 stars.  This was a great motivational book for anyone who is or aspires to be a creator of any kind.  Being a business founder and start-up guy, this book resonated in a big way for me.  It is an incredibly easy read.   Highly recommend.

10.  Me Talk Pretty One Day

4 stars.  My first David Sedaris book.  He came highly recommended and I can see why.  This book is very similar to Surely You’re Joking Mr. Feynman which I rated above in that it’s a series of short stories about the author’s life.  Funny book.  I will read another Sedaris book soon.

11.  We are Legion – Bobiverse 

4 stars.  Good sci-fi.  This one is fun and thought provoking.  If you’re into sci-fi you’ll like it.

12.  Sirens of Titan

5 stars.  Vonnegut.  I’m a huge fan of Vonnegut and had never read Sirens of Titan which is one of his first books.  If you’ve never read Vonnegut or are a fan and haven’t picked this one up, check it out!

